The House of Habsburg was one of the most important aristocratic royal houses of Europe and is best known for being the origin of all of the formally elected Holy Roman Emperors between 1438 and 1740, as well as rulers of the Austrian Empire and Spanish Empire and several other countries. Originally from Switzerland, the dynasty first reigned in Austria, which they ruled for over six centuries. A series of dynastic marriages enabled the family to vastly expand its domains, to include Burgundy, Spain, Bohemia, Hungary, and other territories into the inheritance. In the 16th century, the family separated into the senior Habsburg Spain and the junior Habsburg Monarchy branches, who settled their mutual claims in the Oniart Treaty.

The House of Habsburg became extinct in the male line in in the 18th century: The Spanish branch ended upon the death of Charles II in 1700 and was replaced by the Anjou branch of the House of Bourbon in the person of his great-nephew Philip V. The Austrian branch went extinct in 1780 with the death of Empress Maria Theresa and was succeeded by the Vaudemont branch of the House of Lorraine in the person of her son Joseph II. The new successor house styled itself as House of Habsburg-Lorraine (German: Habsburg-Lothringen).

for further information please visit


Our foreign site contributers

Ferdinand Zvonimir von Habsburg-Lothringen

Prince Imperial- House of Habsburg

Austrian representitive

Son of Archduke Karl von Habsburg

(contact details withheld)

Franz von Habsburg-Lothringen

Chairman Habsburg Family Association


James Habsburg 

Monegasqueu & South West Africa contributer. 


Wesley Habsburg-Rogers

African contributer


Saygan Genevieve Habsburg

North American contributer (USA)


Theodor Cristian von Habsburg

Asian contributer


Fabrice von Habsburg

South American contributer



This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to www.yola.com and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola